Local News

Polk County Enterprise
Corrigan Times
Houston County Courier
Tyler County Booster
Big Thicket Messenger
San Jacinto Newstimes
Trinity Standard
Groveton News

Special Sections


Tyler County Booster - Local News
Stories Added - March 16, 2007 - March 23, 2007
Copyright 2007 - Polk County Publishing Company

First Gib Lewis Academy Graduates 38
Tyler County Booster - March 2007

The first ever Gib Lewis Correctional Training Academy held it’s inaugural graduation ceremony Friday with 38 officers completing the local training event which kicked off in January. The local class offering had a lot of appeal because candidates did not have to travel the long distance to Huntsville for their training. Many friends and family were on hand for the special event.

“Our trainers here are seasoned officers and were able to give you a good look and some practical experience at what to expect in this important work,” said Senior Warden Greg Dawson to the incoming TDCJ employees, adding “Welcome to the family.” Dawson told the incoming officers to look to the “Shining Star” on a shift. “That employee that demonstrates what it means to be a good officer and try to outrun that shining star.”

The Gib Lewis Training staff included Captain Conley Moore, Sergeant Christopher Norsworthy and Sergeant Terry Bryant.

The Graduating Class spokesperson Tonya Lowe said, “The group had grown as a team with the characteristics of respect, integrity, professionalism and heart.”

Major Frank Helm presented the pre-service graduation certificates to the incoming officers.

Region 1 Assistant Director Kevin Mayfield presented the Beto Award to two officers in the class who tied in their Academy scores each recording a total of 598 out of 600. The honorees are Officer Carole Eagelson and Officer Lakendrick Payton .

Warden Dawson then presented the “Timothy Parsley Award” to graduating class member Tonya Lowe. That award is presented in memory of Officer Timothy Parsley who lost his life in the line of duty at the Gib Lewis Unit in 1996.

The inagural class of 38 graduates includes the following: Tarena Beatty, Alicia Brooks, Gary Brown, Barbara Brummett, Elvis Cratic, Arlene Day, William Dodson, Josephine Duke, Andrew Eagleson, Carole Eagleson and Alice Gillis.

Also included in the class were: Joshua Godfrey, Joshua Golden, Jamie Hill, Evelyn Jammer, Tasheba Jones, Cody Kosina, Tonya Lowe, Cortney Marvels, Eldred McInnis, Jessica Miller and James Mitchell.

Others graduating were: Detra Monroe, Ann Moye, Melissa Myers, Clayton Odom, Carvin Olford, Lakendrick Payton, Alton Peterson, Christopher Porter, Aaron Riley, Jerry Sheffield, David Shelly, Jafondra Washington and Justin Winniger. The ceremonies were accentuated with a special contingent of color guard which added importance to the event.










Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2007
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith