Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357

Corrigan Times - Local News

Copyright 2014 - Polk County Publishing Company


Candidate list complete for runoff ballot


LIVINGSTON – In addition to three local Republican Party races, the May 27 primary runoff election also will feature a number of statewide and district races, including six more on the Republican side and two on the Democratic. Locally, E.L. "Ernie" Mc- Clendon will face Shelly Bush Sitton, both of Livingston, for the Republican nomination as 258th District Judge. On election night, McClendon lead the three-candidate fi eld, garnering 47.3 percent in the three-county district while Sitton fi nished in second with 35.4 percent. Cecil E. Berg was third with 17.4 percent and will not advance. The 258th Judicial District includes Polk, San Jacinto and Trinity counties and McClendon was the election night vote leader in all three. The winner of the runoff will face Democratic Party nominee Joe D. Roth of Livingston in the November general election. Roth was unopposed in his party primary and received 100 percent of the Democratic vote. Also yet to be decided is the Republican nomination for the Polk County Judge's offi ce. Sydney Brown Murphy and Benny Fogleman, both of Livingston, will face one another on the runoff ballot. In a tight three-way race on March 4, Murphy received 38.2 percent of the vote while Fogleman garnered 31.2 percent to fi nish in second. The third candidate in the race, Dan Ellis of Livingston, narrowly missed the runoff cut with 30.7 percent of the vote. Although there is no Democratic candidate seeking the county judge's offi ce, Keith Anderson of Corrigan has fi led to run as an independent on the November general election ballot. They are seeking to replace County Judge John Thompson, who did not seek re-election this year. Also headed into a runoff for the Polk County Court at Law Judge's position are Tom Brown and John Wells, both of Livingston. Although there were four names on the March 4 ballot in this race, Constance T. Slocomb announced her withdrawal from the race prior to the start of early voting. Election night totals listed Brown in the lead with 37.0 percent followed by Wells with 32.0 percent. Pam Walker, also of Livingston, drew 19.5 percent and Slocomb, despite her withdrawal, garnered 11.5 percent. With no Democrat or independent seeking the offi ce, the winner of the runoff is expected to be unopposed in the November general election. Under the election rules, candidates must receive a majority of the vote in their race in order to advance to the November general election. In races with three or more candidates where none receive more than the 50 percent required, the top two advance to the runoff. During the runoff, those who voted during the March 4 election in one of the party primaries can only vote in that party's runoff election. Those who did not vote can vote in either the Republican or Democratic Party runoff elections. Early voting in the runoff elections will be from May 19- 23. The deadline to register to vote in order to take part in the runoff is April 28 and those who wish to apply for a mail ballot may do so from March 28 through May 16. U.S. House race Also on the May 27 Republican runoff the District 36 U.S. House of Representative's race will again be on the ballot. The original fi eld of 12 contenders for the seat being vacated by Steve Stockman has been narrowed down to Woodville dentist Brian Babin and Houston-area businessman Ben Streusand. District wide, Babin lead the pack on March 4 with 33.4 percent of the vote while Streusand came in second with 23.4 percent. Other candidates, in descending order included John Manlove with 6.9 percent, Doug Centilli with 6.8 percent, Phil Fitzgerald with 6.6 percent, Robin Riley with 5.1 percent, Dave Norman with 4.5 percent, Chuck Meyer with 3.1 percent, John Amdur with 2.9 percent, Kim I. Morrell with 2.8 percent, Jim Engstrand with 2.5 percent and Pat Kasprzak with 2.2 percent. Other Republican races Other runoff races set for May 27 include: -- Lieutenant Governor: Incumbent David Dewhurst finished in second on March 4 with 28.3 percent of the vote behind challenger Dan Patrick's 41.5 percent. Other candidates in the race who will not advance to the runoff were Todd Staples with 17.8 percent and Jerry Patterson with 12.5 percent of the vote. The winner will face the Democratic Party nominee Leticia Van de Putte in November. -- Attorney General: Ken Paxton with 44.4 percent of the vote will advance to face Dan Branch, who garnered 33.5 percent. The third candidate in the race, Barry Smitherman, received only 22.1 percent of the vote. The runoff winner will face Democratic Party nominee Sam Houston in November -- Comptroller of Public Accounts: Glenn Hegar narrowly missed winning the nomination outright with his 49.99 percent of the statewide vote but, barring any changes to the total, will face Harvey Hilderbran on May 27. Hilderbran finished in second with 26 percent while Debra Medina drew 19.3 percent and Raul Torres garnered 4.7 percent. The winner will face Democratic nominee Mike Collier in the general election. -- Commissioner of Agriculture: Sid Miller with 34.6 percent of the March 4 vote total will advance to the runoff to face Tommy Merritt, who finished with 21 percent. Other candidates who fell short included Eric Opiela with 17.4 percent, Joe Cotton with 14.6 percent and J. Allen Carnes with 12.4 percent. -- Railroad Commissioner: Wayne Christian with 42.7 percent of the vote will advance to face Ryan Sitton, who had 30.5 percent. Other candidates included Becky Berger with 16.8 percent and Malachi Boyuls with 10 percent. The winner will face Democratic Party nominee Steve Brown in November. Democratic Party runoff Although there will be no local races on the Democratic Party's May 27 ballot, there are two statewide races that are still undecided. Topping the party's ballot will be the U.S. Senate race in which Dallas dentist David M. Alameel will face Houston activist Kesha Rogers. During the March 4 vote, Alameel received 47.1 percent of the statewide vote while Rogers finished in second with 21.7 percent. Others in the race included Maxey Marie Scherr with 17.7 percent, Harry Kim with 8.9 percent and Michael "Fjet" Fjetland with 4.6 percent. The winner of this runoff will challenge incumbent Sen. John Cornyn in November. The only other runoff race will be for the Commissioners of Agriculture, which will pit Jim Hogan against Richard "Kinky" Friedman. In the March 4 vote, Hogan finished with 38.8 percent while Friedman garnered 37.7 percent. Hugh Asa Fitzsimons III finished in third with 23.5 percent.


Polk County Publishing Company