Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - August 2008
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company
Kalin’s Center Staff – A part of Latexo ISD - Staff Day Educational Training Program.
Houston County Courier - August 2008
Submitted by Debbie McCall
Debbie McCall, ED for the Houston and Trinity Counties Child Advocacy Center and Kathryn Jenkines, Kalin Center’s forensic interviewer were guest speakers at the Latexo Independent School District's staff development day on Thursday, Aug. 21.
Teachers are often the first adults abused children turn to for help and educators, those who see the children every day and can observe their appearance and behavior-are considered a primary source for helping to spot and stop a child’s suffering.
Texas law requires that any professional who suspects that a child is being abused or neglected must make a report to the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or any local or state law enforcement agency with in 48 hours.
Reports must be made of any suspected abuse or neglect, not just acts of physical abuse. The obligation to report includes abuse that may occur. Failure to report is a class B misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, 180 days in jail, or both.
The Texas Family Code specifically states that both a child abuse report and the identity of an individual making a report are confidential and may be disclosed only by order of a court or to a law enforcement officer for the purposes of conducting a criminal investigation.