Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - August 2008
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Church named historic site
Houston County Courier - August 2008

The First United Methodist Church of Lovelady has joined 339 other churches worldwide with the elite distinction of being named a United Methodist Historic Site by the United Methodist Commission on History and Archives.

A delegation of 20 church members were joined by State Representative Chuck Hopson and East District Superintendent Jerry Pennington, gathered at the First United Methodist Church of Jacksonville on Friday, July 11 for the special presentation.

Dr. Robert J. Williams, general secretary of the United Methodist Commission on History and Archives at Drew University in Madison, NJ. presented the delegation with the unique medallion that will be displayed at the church.

The historic church building that presently occupies the corner of Reed and Pennington Streets in Lovelady was constructed in 1909 and will accommodate about 125 people.

The Lovelady Methodist Episcopal Church South was first organized in 1872.

 The first pastor was a circuit rider by the name of William N. Bonner.

In 1892 the church purchased the local Presbyterian Church, including the furniture, for $400.

The building later burned and was replaced in 1909 with the present structure.

In the church's 136-year history there have been 63 pastors, with the current being John Montgomery.

According to Pastor Montgomery, the church currently has a membership of 112.





Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith