Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357

Houston County Courier - Local News

Copyright 2011 - Polk County Publishing Company

Three races contested
Houston County Courier

By Lynda Jones
Managing Editor

The election season got off to a confusing and complicated start, but several county hopefuls made the Monday, Dec. 19 filing deadline for the April 3 primary elections. The deadline was originally set for Thursday, Dec. 15, but a federal district court in San Antonio changed that deadline as well as the date for the primaries. The change is due to pending litigation surrounding the redistricting plans submitted by the 82nd Texas Legislature. Instead of March 6, all Texas primary elections will be April 3. If the courts come to an agreement on the redistricting plans before Feb. 1, then the filing period will reopen at a date yet to be determined, but will end on Feb. 1. During the second filing period, additional candidates will be allowed to file, in addition to anyone who needs to make a change due to the final redistricting action, according to a spokesperson in the Texas Secretary of State office. As of the 6 p.m. Dec. 19 filing deadline, the following have filed with their parties for positions in Houston County: Republican Primary County Judge: Erin Ford, Wayne Mask, Frank Minton, Danny Ory and Jesse Stephens Precinct 1 Commissioner: Roger Dickey Precinct 1 Constable: Morris Luker Precinct 2 Constable: Kenneth “Red” Smith Sheriff: Darrel Bobbitt District Attorney: David Cervantes, Donna Gordon Kaspar County Party Chairman: Joni Clonts Democrat Primary County Attorney: Daphne Session Tax Assessor: Danette Millican Precinct 3 Commissioner: Pat Perry Precinct 1 Constable: Harry Jackson County Party Chairman: Bill Holcomb Independent Candidate in November John Jenkins has declared his intent to run as an independent candidate for county judge in the November general election.


Polk County Publishing Company