Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - February 2009
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Local elections near
Houston County Courier -  February 2009
By Daphne Hereford
Managing Editor

Five local school districts, five cities and the hospital district are slated to hold elections on Saturday, May 9 to fill various positions within their respective entities.
Early voting will be held Monday, April 27 - Tuesday, May 5 at the various entities.
The deadline for candidates to file for a position on the ballot is Monday, March 9.
Candidates interested in filing for a position should contact the specific entity for additional information.
Positions that will be decided in the May 9 election include:
City of Crockett
Position 1 – James Hall (incumbent)
Position 2 – Darius Kitchen, (incumbent)
Mayor – Wayne Mask (incumbent)
City of Grapeland
At large - Wanda Nichols   (incumbent)
At large - Gary Rains  (incumbent)
At Large - Jeffrey Willoughby  (incumbent)
City of Latexo
Alderman - Linda Horton (incumbent)
Alderman – Nelda Bobbitt (incumbent)
Alderman – Juan Noyola (incumbent)
City of Lovelady
Position 3 - David Sulewski  (incumbent)
Position 4  - vacant  (incumbent)
Position 5 - Byron Shoemaker  (incumbent)
City of Kennard
Mayor - Jesse Stephens (incumbent)
Position 1 - Roger Jones (incumbent)
Position 2 - Michelle Rowe (incumbent)
Grapeland ISD
Position 3  - James Anderson (incumbent)
Position 4  - Karen Bridges (incumbent)
Position 5 – Eddie Childress (incumbent)
Latexo ISD
Position 3 - Jennifer Patton (incumbent)
Position 4  - Barbara Stewart (incumbent)
Kennard ISD
At Large - Ronald Hill  (incumbent)
At large - Tod English  (incumbent)
At large - Crest Adair (incumbents)
Lovelady ISD
Position 1 – Don Crum (incumbent)
Position 2 – Richard Gunnels (incumbent)
Position 3 – Bruce Monk (incumbent)
Crockett ISD
District 3 – Helen Dubcak (incumbent)
District 4 – Karen Johnson (incumbent)
District 7 – Claude Watson  (incumbent)
Houston County Hospital District
Position 1 – Barbara Crowson  (incumbent)
Position 3 - Dr. Richard Kelly (Incumbent)
Position 5 - Dr. Patrick Walker (incumbent)
Position 7 – Virginia Lewis (Incumbent)
Position 9 – Ronnie LaRue (incumbent)








Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith