Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - March 2009
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Local elections near
Houston County Courier -  March 2009

By Daphne Hereford
Managing Editor

Five local school districts, five cities and the hospital district are slated to hold elections on Saturday, May 9 to fill various positions within their respective entities.
Early voting will be held Monday, April 27 - Tuesday, May 5.
The deadline for candidates to file for a position on the ballot is Monday, March 9.
Candidates interested in filing for a position should contact the specific entity for additional information.
Positions that will be decided in the May 9 election include:

City of Crockett

Position 1 – James Hall (incumbent)
Ansel Bradshaw
Position 2 – Darius Kitchen, (incumbent)
Woodrow Jones
Crystal Haynie
Robert Meadows
Darrell Jay Jones
Mayor – Wayne Mask (incumbent)
Renea Minter

City of Grapeland

At large - Wanda Nichols   (incumbent)
At large - Gary Rains  (incumbent)
At Large - Jeffrey Willoughby  (incumbent)

City of Latexo

Alderman - Linda Horton (incumbent)
Alderman – Nelda Bobbitt (incumbent)
Alderman – Juan Noyola (incumbent)

City of Lovelady

Position 3 - None
Position 4  - Norma Lane
Position 5 - Byron Shoemaker  (incumbent)

City of Kennard

Mayor - Jesse Stephens (incumbent)
Position 1 - Roger Jones (incumbent)
Position 2 - Michelle Rowe (incumbent)

Grapeland ISD

Position 3  - James Anderson (incumbent)
Position 4  - Russell Currie
  Kay Boothe
Position 5 – Eddie Childress (incumbent)
Jim Thorpe

Latexo ISD

Position 3 - Jennifer Patton (incumbent)
Position 4  - Barbara Stewart (incumbent)

Kennard ISD

At large - Tod English  (incumbent)
At large - Rebecca Hill Parker
At large - Crest Adair (incumbents)

Lovelady ISD

Position 1 – Don Crum (incumbent)
Position 2 – Richard Gunnels (incumbent)
William McKnight
Position 3 – Bruce Monk (incumbent)

Crockett ISD

District 3 – Helen Dubcak (incumbent)
Roy Johnson
Ben Schaeffer
District 4 – Karen Johnson (incumbent)
District 7 – Claude Watson  (incumbent)
Ray Bruner
Lela P. Wheeler

Houston County Hospital District

Position 1 – Barbara Crowson  (incumbent)
Position 3 - Dr. Richard Kelly (Incumbent)
Position 5 - Dr. Patrick Walker (incumbent)
Position 7 – Virginia Lewis (Incumbent)
Position 9 – Ronnie LaRue (incumbent)
Cities that won’t be required to hold an election since the races are uncontested include Latexo, Kennard, Grapeland, and Lovelady. School districts with uncontested races include Latexo, and Kennard.


Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith