Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - November 2009
Copyright 2009 - Polk County Publishing Company
Texas Forest Service holds annual personnel meeting in Crockett
Houston County Courier - November 2009
The Jordan School will host the 2009 Christmas Tour of Homes on Sunday, Dec. 6 from 1 p.m. - 5 p.m. The tour will highlight nine area houses that have been decorated for the holiday season.
Pre-sale tickets are $8 or $10 at the door.
Tickets are available at The Jordan School or Moosehead Cafe'
For more information call 544-4049
Among the homes on the tour are the Lovell residence, Sulewski residence, Davies residence, Wichers residence, Clonts residence, Warfield House, Smith House, Downes-Aldrich House, and Monroe-Crook House.
The Courier will publish information about the houses on the tour in each edition prior to the event.
The Lovell Home
At 112 South Grace Street sits a charming red brick English Tudor home purchased by Sherri and Heath Lovell in 2004.
Originally a part of the Albright property and built in 1921, the Lovells remodeled and updated the structure refiguring the floor plan for modern living.
Walls and windows were removed where necessary, but the original fireplace, remaining doors, windows, interior trim, and glass doorknobs retain the period charm of the home.
Mrs. Lovell added her own special touch to the kitchen cabinets, using a faux finish.
Outside specially designed wood panels in keeping with the English architecture cover spaces where windows had to be removed.
Be sure to stroll through the terrace area connecting the garage and upstairs apartment. Beautifully landscaped beds surround an outdoor entertainment area featuring a fireplace.
The Lovells’ like to do something different each Christmas for their decorations. She had not quite made up her mind at the time of the interview, but we know it will be beautiful as in year’s past!
The Sulewski Home
At 114 South Grace Street is the charming Greek Revival home of Tony and K.K. Sulewski. Originally part of the Albright Estate and constructed in 1912, it was purchased by the Sulewskis in 2000.
Previously changed into a duplex, the Sulewskis spent a year undertaking the remodeling themselves, changing the flow of the house back to a single dwelling. They have retained as many of the original architectural features as possible, including 11-foot ceilings, pine flooring and some fixtures.
On the back of the home, a glassed-in porch was added, taking care to duplicate the original trim and baseboards.
From the porch, one is welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens surrounding the home, including a child’s garden, vegetable garden, pool and entertainment area, and butterfly garden with pergola.
You can also access the Lovell home next door through the arbor in the hedge.
The Sulewskis’ plan to decorate with as many natural materials as possible, using greenery and berries from the woods and a real tree.