Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - October 2010
Copyright 2010 - Polk County Publishing Company

Election judges named during meeting
Houston County Courier

In preparation for the upcoming General Election, the Houston County Commissioners Court Tuesday appointed a number of replacement election officials. Precinct election judges and alternates are appointed for two year terms. The replacements will fill terms which expire on Sept. 1, 2011. The following presiding judges and alternate judges will be responsible for conducting the Nov. 2 General Election and any other elections which may be called by the state or the county: Box 1: Vance Drum (Judge) and Lucy Benton (Alternate) Box 2: Janet Walker (Judge) and Lenetha Carter (Alternate) Box 3: Elouise Wooten (Judge) and Linda Schaffer (Alternate) Box 4: Jane Richmond (Judge) and Jim Ainsworth (Alternate) Box 5: Emily Cunningham (Judge) and Bobby Platt (Alternate) Box 6: Carolyn Parker (Judge) and Sally Adkison (Alternate) Box 7: Cindy Shaw (Judge) and Shirley Chandler (Alternate) Box 8: Jo Ann Walker (Judge) and Floene Moore (Alternate) Box 9: Barbara LaRue (Judge) and Charles L. Barrier (Alternate) Box 10: Jerry Christian (Judge) and Patty Biggs (Alternate) Box 11: Bonnie Scurlock (Judge) and Georgia Scurlock (Alternate) Box 12: Billy Ray Duren (Judge) and Alternate to be named Box 14: Kenneth Clark (Judge) and Mary Neel (Alternate) Box 15: David Bridges (Judge) and John Stell (Alternate) Box 16: Connie Jones (Judge) and Polly Morris (Alternate) Box 17: Yvonne Otis (Judge) and Charlie Adams Jr. (Alternate) Box 18: Don Huse (Judge) and Scott Matthews (Alternate) Box 19: Kay Lovell (Judge) and Carla Haas (Alternate) Box 20: Tim Bynum (Judge) and Virginia Womack (Alternate) Box 21: Joe House (Judge) and Carl Watts (Alternate) Box 22: Tammy Cook (Judge) and Bernice Harris (Alternate) Central Counting Station: J. J. “Buddy” Clonts (Judge) and Dick Murchison (Alternate) Early voting will be held Oct. 18 – 29 at the Courthouse in Crockett, with branch early voting also scheduled for Saturday Oct. 23 at the Kennard School, Lovelady Community Center and First United Methodist Church in Grapeland. In other business, the Houston County Commissioners Court reviewed sheriff’s and constable’s fees charged for the service of papers. Noting that the fees charged by Houston County were considerably lower than most surrounding counties, the court voted to increase fees for the coming year. Fees for serving subpoenas, summons and various other court citations will increase from $75 to $80, and the charge for serving writs will increase from $100 to $110. The court approved a budget amendment to receive additional grant revenue from the Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) under the 2010 Social Services Block Grant. An additional $51,357.47 was received as a reimbursement for expenses incurred for mental health services and other qualifying services. The court also approved renewal of a grant contract with the Texas Department of Transportation Aviation Divi-sion under the Routine Airport Maintenance Program. This program provides a reimbursement of 50 percent of the cost of various maintenance costs at Houston County Airport. In other action, the court approved the renewal of a non-financial agreement with the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services. The agreement authorizes the continued operation of the Houston County Child Welfare Board, and allows for sharing of information between the local Board and the state’s Child Protective Services for the purpose of meeting the needs of children in foster care. The court accepted an order from District Judges Pam Fletcher and Mark Calhoon setting the salaries of the county auditor, assistant auditors and district court reporters for the new budget year. County Judge Lonnie Hunt noted that the salary order was in line with the amount provided in the new county budget, and publicly thanked Fletcher and Calhoon for cooperating with the Commissioners Court in the budget process. In other business, the court: Approved a budgeted five percent salary increase for Ryan Martin, narcotics officer in the sheriff’s department; Declared a Ford 5000 tractor and Terrain King boom mower in R&B Precinct 1 as salvage equipment and authorized them to be sold by local bids; Approved an agreement with Greg Graham to allow R and B Precinct 1 to purchase iron ore gravel from his property at a cost of $4 per yard; and Approved payment of a $2,850 bill for software maintenance in the county clerk’s office from the County Clerk’s Records Management Fund.


Polk County Publishing Company