Local News

Polk County Enterprise
Corrigan Times
Houston County Courier
Tyler County Booster
Big Thicket Messenger
San Jacinto Newstimes
Trinity Standard
Groveton News

Special Sections


Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - November 11, 2007 - November 18, 2007
Copyright 2007 - Polk County Publishing Company

Council tables Buyboard vote
Houston County Courier - November 2007
By Daphne Hereford
Managing Editor

Crockett City Council tabled final action on a resolution and agreement with the Local Government Purchasing Cooperative to purchase equipment, goods, and services for the city through the BuyBoard to a future meeting at the meeting held Monday, Nov. 5.

City Administrator Ron Duncan told council that the BuyBoard was one of many tools available to communities to secure products or as a basis of price comparison.
Duncan said about 60-70 municipalities and 60 school districts participated in the BuyBoard.

During discussion about the program, Councilman James Hall said he would like to see certain terms in the agreement, including associated fees and administration, more clearly defined before council approval and made a motion accordingly. Councilman Bill Holcomb amended Hall's motion to allow preliminary approval at the next meeting based on the changes suggested by Hall.

Council awarded the bid for the construction of five homes for the 2006 Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs Program to Jerry Broxson in the amount of $241, 006.
The filing of a grant for the Regional Solid Waste Grants Program with DETCOG was approved by council. The grant is filed in conjunction with the county each year for the position.

Council approved a resolution to cast 256 votes for Mike Maiden as a candidate to the Houston County Appraisal District board of directors.

Council also approved the reappointments of Pat Dickey, Michael Brenner, Patsy Barney and Gordon McClain and the appointment of Jimmy Keene, Robert Thompson and Joni Clonts to the Board of Adjustments.

Board of Planning and Zoning reappointments approved included Jack Shiveley, Jim Dowell, Tim Culp, and Della Newman. Frank Minton was also appointed.

Kaye Hamilton was appointed to the John H. Wootters Crockett Library Advisory Board.
Board of Building and Standards reappointments included Robert "Dudley" Stepleton, Ianthia Fisher, Nancy Venable, and Ann McNabb. Appointments included Dianne Rhone, Joni Clonts and W.L. Tillis.

Parks and Recreation Board reappointments were David Gay, Tim Culp and John Walker. Appointments included Sammy Wagner and James Berry.





Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2007
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith