Houston County Courier - Local News
Stories Added - Thursday, April 10, 2008
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Local elections near
Houston County Courier - April 2008
By Daphne Hereford
Managing Editor

All five cities in Houston County have cancelled the May election because the candidates seeking office were all unopposed.
Local school districts and the hospital district will hold elections if the candidates on their ballots are opposed.
The candidates in the Grapeland Independent School District election were unopposed and that election has also been cancelled.
Those who will automatically be elected or re-elected as a result of a cancelled city election include:

City of Crockett

Position 3 - Nathan Gardner, (incumbent)
Position 4 - R.B. Jones, (incumbent)
Position 5 - Bill Holcomb, (incumbent)

City of Grapeland

At large - Stanley Skidmore
At large - Willie Shepherd

City of Latexo

Mayor - Debbie Bruner (incumbent)
Alderman - Larry Melson (incumbent)
Alderman - Annetta Clark (incumbent)

City of Lovelady

Mayor - Michael Broxson
Position 1 - Norma Dell Jones
Position 2 - Eric Brown

City of Kennard

Position 3 - Bobby Calhoun
Position 4 - Donald Ray Lamb, Sr.
Position 5 - Wilmer Taylor

Candidates who will automatically be elected or re-elected as a result of a cancelled school district election include:

Grapeland ISD

Position 1 - Mitchell Huff
Position 2 - Paul Oliver

School districts holding elections include:
Latexo ISD
Position 1 - John Turner (incumbent) and Sharla Kilian
Position 2 - Mike Furrh (incumbent) and Joseph Catoe
Position 4 - Genger Galloway and Barbara Stewart

Kennard ISD

Two at large positions - Ronnie Gladden, Barry Barlow, Josh Bobbitt and Grady D. Hogg.
Lovelady ISD
Postion 6 - David Stacks and Billy Jones (incumbent)
Position 7 - Chris Starns (incumbent)

Crockett ISD

District 2 - Pam Ainsworth (incumbent) and James Berry
District 5 - Johnny Lawrence (incumbent) and James Gentry
District 4 - Karen Johnson (unexpired term).
Another election being held includes the hospital district.

Houston County Hospital District

Position 2 - Danny Ory and George Beeler.
Position 4 - Dr. John Stovall (Incumbent)
Position 6 - Dr. Ray Morrison and Tim Culp.
Position 8 - Deborah Blackwell (Incumbent) and Gene Kellum.

Early voting begins Monday, April 28 and continues through Tuesday, May 6 at Houston County Courthouse Annex.

The last day to register to vote will be Thursday, April 10.
For additional information about any of the upcoming elections contact the respective taxing entity.







Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith