Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Polk County Enterprise - Local News
Stories Added - November 2008
Copyright 2008 - Polk Count
y Publishing Company

Hammack wins another term as sheriff
Polk County Enterprise - November 2008
LIVINGSTON – More than two-thirds of Polk County’s registered voters turned out during early voting. Election day voting was considerably lighter, with only 53.81 percent casting ballots overall. Polk County Sheriff Kenneth Hammack retained his position, beating opponent Gary McClendon handily with more than a 2-to-1 showing at the polls. Hammack garnered 12,925 votes to McClendon’s 5,741. The race for Pct. 3 Constable went to Ray Myers who defeated Stacey Lowe by a 35 percent margin. Lowe managed 893 votes but was no match for Myers’s 1,875 votes. In a close race for Pct. 4 Constable, Dana “Bubba” Piper squeezed past Bobby Key to win with an 18 vote margin. The fi nal tally left Bobby Key with 1,776 votes to Piper’s 1,794. In the uncontested races in Polk County, Marion A. “Bid” Smith received 11,956 as Tax Assessor Collector, Bob Willis received 6,487 votes for Pct. 1 Commissioner Milton Byrd Purvis took 2,122 votes for Pct. 3 Commissioner, Charlie Clack garnered 6,407 votes for Pct. 1 Constable and William “Bill” Cunningham got 2,590 votes for Pct. 2 Constable. In the Presidential race, Polk County voters overwhelmingly chose John McCain over Barack Obama, 13,703 to 6,215. Bob Barr, the Libertarian candidate earned 179 nods and there were an additional 63 write-in votes. Surprisingly, 118 of the ballots cast indicated no choice for president. Republican incumbent John Cornyn defeated his Democratic opponent Rick Noriega by a 2 to 1 margin to retain his seat in the United States Senate, with Cornyn taking 12,237 votes to Noriega’s 6,488. Libertarian candidate Yvonne Adams earned 496 votes. Kevin Brady also held on to his seat in the U.S. House of Representatives for District 8 by a comfortable 2 to 1 margin against Democratic opponent Kent Hargett. Brady earned 12,260 votes to Hargett’s 5,881. Libertarian Brian Stevens got 522 votes. In the race for Railroad Commissioner, Republican Michael Williams won with 10,846 votes to Democrat Mark Thompson’s 6,678. Polk County has 38,398 registered voters, nearly 53 percent of whom turned out to vote, for a total of 20,278 ballots cast. Early voting saw 14,133 ballots cast or almost 70 percent of the total ballots. Electronic ballots outweighed paper ballots 11,117 to 9,161, or less than 20 percent. For additional election results, see the full tally on Page 5A of today’s paper.


Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith