Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

Polk County Enterprise - Local News
Stories Added - November 2010
Copyright 2010 - Polk County Publishing Company


McEntyre wins new term as JP



LIVINGSTON — Precinct 4 voters gave incumbent Steven McEntyre another four years as Justice of the Peace, settling the only contested race on Polk County ballots. Republican McEntyre received 2,043 votes to 454 for Democratic opponent Wesley R. “Randy” Brown. McEntyre fended off opposition from James R. “Bobby” Brame and Nicholas Baskin in the Republican primary, getting 65 percent of the vote in the three-way contest in March. The other local offices on Tuesday’s ballot were unopposed. District Judge Elizabeth Coker was unopposed for another four years on the bench in the 258th Judicial District, which includes Polk, San Jacinto and Trinity counties. County Judge John Thompson defeated Kathie Freeman with 73 percent of the vote in the Republican Primary and was unopposed in the general election. Criminal District Attorney William Lee Hon, County Court at Law Judge Stephen Phillips, District Clerk Kathy E. Clifton, County Clerk Schelana Walker, County Treasurer Nola Reneau, Pct. 1 Justice of the Peace Darrell Longino, Pct. 2 Justice of the Peace David G. Johnson, Pct. 2 Commissioner Ronnie Vincent, Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace Larry Whitworth and Pct. 4 Commissioner Tommy Overstreet also drew no opposition. In the governor’s race Polk County favored incumbent Rick Perry with 7,980 votes (63.59 percent) to Bill White’s 4,200 (33.47). White conceded at about 9:30 p.m. Tuesday when statewide results had Perry leading with 56 percent with 48 percent of precincts reporting and More than 75 percent voted for U.S. Rep. Kevin Brady while Democrat Kent Hargett got nearly 22 percent and Libertarian Bruce West less than 3 percent. Texas Sen. Robert Nichols got 9,334 votes to 1,281 for David Scott. Texas Rep. John Otto received 9,372 votes (87.93 percent) to 1,281 for Libertarian opponent David Scott (12 percent). All of Tuesday’s winners will be sworn in for new fouryear terms on Jan. 1.


Polk County Publishing Company