Local News

Polk County Enterprise
Corrigan Times
Houston County Courier
Tyler County Booster
Big Thicket Messenger
San Jacinto Newstimes
Trinity Standard
Groveton News

Special Sections


Polk County Enterprise - Local News
Stories Added - May 26, 2007 - June 2, 2007
Copyright 2007 - Polk County Publishing Company

City, school races decided
Polk County Enterprise, May 2007

LIVINGSTON – In addition to helping decide statewide constitutional amendment and county road tax issues, some Polk County voters also cast ballots Saturday in one city council and three school board elections.
One of the most contested races was in the Goodrich ISD. Rev. Tim Harrell beat out two other candidates to win the vacant Position 6 on the GISD Board of Trustees. Harrell received 87 votes. Challengers Kelly Sims Nelson and Tom E. Messner received 60 and 26 votes, respectively.
Voters returned GISD Position 7 incumbent Brenda Bennett to her post with 105 votes. Her challenger, Calvin Plank, received 67 votes.
Position 5 incumbent Melvin Leggett was unopposed for re-election and received 104 votes.
There was only one contested race for Onalaska school board. Position 5 incumbent Tom Curran received 53 votes, defeating challenger Cynthia Sisk, who received 25 votes.
OISD board incumbents Sherry Winkle, Position 1, and Caryn Price, Position 2, were unopposed for re-election. Each received 48 votes.
There was also only one contested race for Corrigan City Council. Position 5 incumbent Martha Wright Barthold received 69 votes, winning re-election over challenger Christopher Pelletier, who received 27 votes.
Leslie Jones Burks, Position 1, and Lou Eaton, Position 3, were unopposed for re-election. Corrigan voters gave Burks 61 votes and Eaton 59 votes.
Voters filled four seats on the Chester ISD Board of Trustees. Morgan Wright was unopposed for election for the unexpired term on the board.
Six people were seeking the three at-large board positions on the ballot. Winning seats on the Chester board were Steve Havis, 127 votes; Jake David, 104 votes and Ray McKnight, 67 votes. Missing the chance to serve on the board were Vonda Tolar, 35 votes; Jeannie Johnson, 60 votes and Doyle Wayne Woodrum, 49 votes.








Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2007
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith