Local News

Polk County Enterprise
Corrigan Times
Houston County Courier
Tyler County Booster
Big Thicket Messenger
San Jacinto Newstimes
Trinity Standard
Groveton News

Special Sections


Polk County Enterprise - Local News
Stories Added - June 26, 2007 - July 2, 2007
Copyright 2007 - Polk County Publishing Company

LISD president re-elected to post
Polk County Enterprise, June 2007

LIVINGSTON – Bea Ellis will continue to serve as president of the Livingston Independent School District Board of Trustees.
Board officers were selected following the swearing-in of Trustees Brian Bounds and Frank Henderson during Monday night’s regular meeting of the school board. Bounds and Henderson were both unopposed for re-election to the board in the May 12 election, which was cancelled due to the lack of opposition.
Trustees selected Henderson to serve as vice-president, a position previously held by Sydney Murphy, and Ben Ogletree III as board secretary, a post previously held by Henry Ager.
Ager, who was absent from Monday’s meeting, was appointed to serve as the local representative on the Texas Association of School Boards board, pending his acceptance of the position.
In other business, acceptance of a proposal for replacement of the carpenter shop roof at a cost of approximately $35,000 died for lack of a motion. Trustees are examining other options, including moving the shop to another building.
As required by law, the board reviewed the district’s investment policies and procedures, opting to keep the present system in place.
Trustees approved establishment of a network manager position. The new position will include duties previously performed by the district’s technology coordinator, from which Rex Dickens resigned last month.
Also approved was a personal property donation of nearly $268 in books for school libraries from Sandra Lilley and the addition of Dr. Darrell Myers, who became LISD superintendent on June 1, as an authorized representative on the Lone Star Investment Pool and district bank accounts.
Summer vacation is traditionally marked by numerous personnel changes and this year as been no exception.
Trustees accepted resignations from the following professional personnel: Brian Parker, high school athletic trainer; Sam Burlison, high school science teacher/coach; Norris Taff, high school history teacher/coach; Brad Albrecht, high school math teacher/coach; Leslea Gore, high school special education teacher; Matthew Smith, junior high principal; James Bell, junior high technology applications/ELA teacher; Lani Grall, junior high science teacher; Heather Loafman, junior high special education teacher; Erik Hough, junior high social studies teacher; Candace Hooper, junior high theatre arts teacher; Debra McKinley, special education teacher at Pine Ridge Elementary and Jill Davidson, educational diagnostician.
The board approved the hiring of Janan Moore as director of curriculum and instruction.
Professional personnel hired to serve on the high school campus include: Vicki Stanphill, instructional specialist; Pattie Myers, instructional specialist; Major Charles Hester, Junior ROTC Senior Army instructor; Kathy Henry, math; Leah Huddlestone, English; Rosemary Dickens, English as a Second Language (ESL)/Spanish; Jennifer Johnson, Business Computer Information Systems (BCIS); Christopher Moseley, welding;  Clinton Wilson, small engine repair; Paul Benien, PE teacher/coach and Kyle Young, government and history teacher/coach.
The following personnel were hired to work at the junior high: Randall Scott Martindale, principal; Mary Ortiz, counselor; David Gudgel, band director; Ashley Miller, math; Lauren Rasbury, science teacher/coach; Marion LeBlanc, theatre arts; Keflynn Wilridge, history and PE teacher/coach; Roosevelt Booker, BCIS teacher/coach; Jason Ellis, PE teacher/coach and Robert Langthorn, science teacher/coach. Math teacher Ernie Provasek will be transferring from the high school to the junior high.
On other campuses, Jennifer Patranella was hired as pre-kindergarten teacher and Robin Reyna as PPCD teacher, both at Timber Creek Elementary; Colleen McDonald was employed as instructional specialist and Donna Giffin, special education for autism, both at Pine Ridge Elementary and Pamela Jacks was hired as speech pathologist for Polk County Special Services.
The board was notified of the following auxiliary personnel changes: the retirement of Jenny Tompkins, Pine Ridge secretary; transfer of Jennifer DeWalt from junior high to AEP as an aide; hiring of Jennifer Gradel, interpreter for the deaf at Pine Ridge; transfer of Kaye Offutt from the high school to Pine Ridge secretary; hiring of Hannah Cram, instructional aide, Pine Ridge and Michael Fothergill, guard shack monitor/bus driver; transfers of Harold Wood to junior high head custodian and Waymon Foxworth to head floor technician at the junior high and the hiring of Keith Walters, head floor technician at the high school.







Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2007
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith