Local News

Polk County Enterprise
Corrigan Times
Houston County Courier
Tyler County Booster
Big Thicket Messenger
San Jacinto Newstimes
Trinity Standard
Groveton News

Special Sections


Polk County Enterprise - Local News
Stories Added - March 20, 2007 - March 27, 2007
Copyright 2007 - Polk County Publishing Company

Several city, school races uncontested
Polk County Enterprise, March 2007

LIVINGSTON – Livingston and Corrigan-Camden school districts, as well as the cities of Livingston, Onalaska and Goodrich may have the option to cancel their May 12 elections since there are no contested races.

Elections are in the future for the City of Corrigan, Onalaska ISD, Goodrich ISD and Chester ISD.

Filing for a place on the ballot ended Monday, although write-in candidates have until 5 p.m. next Monday, March 19, to file.

One of the most contested races is for Goodrich school board, where eight people have filed for three positions. Position 5 incumbent Melvin Leggett is being challenged by Joshua Nelson. Position 6, currently vacant, is being sought by Tom E. Messner, Kelly Sims Nelson and Rev. Tim Harrell. Position 7 incumbent is being challenged by Calvin Plank and Johnny Warren Atkinson Sr.

Until shortly before the filing deadline, it appeared Onalaska ISD officials would have the option of canceling their school board election. Position 1 incumbent Sherrie Winkle and Position 2 trustee Caryn Price remain unopposed. Minutes before the filing deadline, Cynthia Sisk applied for a place on the ballot and will take on Position 5 incumbent Tom Curran.

The Corrigan City Council also has only one contested position. Position 5 incumbent Martha Wright Barthold is being challenged by Christopher Pelletier. Position 1 incumbent Leslie Jones Bucks and Position 3 trustee Lou Eaton face no opposition.

Six candidates are seeking places on the Chester school board. Incumbents Morgan Wright, who holds an unexpired term; Steve Havis; Ray McKnight and Vonda Tolar are seeking re-election. Also running in the at-large election are Jake Davis, Jeannie Johnson and Doyle Wayne Woodrum.

Livingston ISD incumbents Brian Bounds and Frank Henderson drew no opposition to their bids for re-election. Also drawing no opposition were Livingston City Council incumbents Judy Cochran, Clarke Evans and Ray Luna and Onalaska City Council members Carl Cruse, Shirley Gilmore and Patsy Goins.

The Goodrich City Council will also have the option to cancel their May 12 election, although the city will also likely not have a mayor. Mayor Lori Thomas opted not to seek re-election and no one filed for her post. Position 1 incumbent Marilyn Peters and Position 2 incumbent Dennis Patterson are unopposed for re-election.

There is also no opposition to the re-election of Corrigan-Camden ISD trustees Russell Harvey, Position 6, and Melanie Taylor, Position 7.

Early voting for the May 12 elections begins April 30 and continues through May 8.









Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2007
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith