Polk County Enterprise - Local News
Stories Added - Thursday, March 6, 2008
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Who’s your commissioner? Pct. 3 voters still don’t know
Polk County Enterprise - March 2008
BY Valerie Redell, Editor

LIVINGSTON — Precinct 1 voters returned Commissioner Bob Willis to another four years with 1,574 votes over challenger Sydney Murphy with 803 votes. The Precinct 3 Commissioner’s race remains up in the air Wednesday afternoon with Milton Byrd Purvis getting 947 votes over Calvin Jones’ 941, but another 40-50 provisional ballots are awaiting an offi cial ruling on whether they will be counted. County Tax Assessor-Collector Marion A. (Bid) Smith said the ballot resolution board was working furiously to have those ballots resolved by 5 p.m. Wednesday.

As of 4:30 p.m. Wednesday neither of the Precinct 3 candidates had asked for a recount. Precinct chairs will canvass returns on March 13. Candidates have two days after the canvassing to call for a recount. Those ballots are from the Republican and Democratic primaries and were cast at boxes throughout the county. The two commissioner primary winners will be unopposed in the November General Election.

In the battle to face incumbent Sheriff Kenneth Hammack in November, Gary McClendon garnered 2,429 votes to Bobby Watson’s 2,114. Dana “Bubba” Piper defeated incumbent Marvin Taylor in the Precinct 4 Constable’s race with 709 votes to 621. Piper will face Republican nominee Bobby Key in November. In the hotly contested Democratic race for the presidential nomination, Polk County voters went for Hillary Rodham Clinton by 4,004 votes. Barack Obama came in second 2,078. John Edwards garnered 154 votes; Bill Richardson 39, Joe Biden 23 and Christopher J. Dodd 17 despite the fact that all three dropped out of the race after the deadline to be removed from the ballot. In the Republican P r i m a r y , John Mc- Cain took the lead in the popular vote for p r e s i d e n t with 2,396 votes; Mike Huckabee got 1,647 but officially dropped out of the race Tuesday night. Ron Paul got 154 votes; Rudy Guiliani 15, Dunhan Hunter 20, Fred Thompson 26, Alan Keyes 17, Hoa Tran 5, Mitt Romney 95 and Hugh Cort 3. But the delegates that each party sends to each party’s state convention will be ironed out after each precinct selected its delegates in the poorly understood Texas twostep caucus process.

S i n c e Democratic precinct officials were tied up conducting the caucuses, many of those precinct boxes did not arrive at the county courthouse until about 9 p.m., election staff reported. Final results were not released until about 11 p.m. Tuesday.


Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith