Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

Run-off early voting begins Monday, April 5
Groveton News


GROVETON – Early voting in both the Democratic and Republican party primary runoffs will be held April 5-9 in Trinity, Groveton and Apple Springs. Election day for both party runoffs will be on Tuesday, April 13. Early voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Trinity City Hall, the Groveton Fire Station and the Apple Springs Fire Station. Those who voted in the March 2 Democratic Primary may only vote in the April 13 Democratic runoff and those who voted in the original Republican primary may only vote in the upcoming GOP runoff. In addition, those who did not vote in either March 2 primary may vote in either the Democratic or Republican party runoff. According to Trinity County Clerk Diane McCrory, those who voted by mail in the March 2 elections will be automatically mailed ballots for the runoff vote. Others who would like to receive a mail ballot should call McCrory’s office at 642-1208. The last day to register to vote in the runoff was on March 15. On the Democratic side, only voters from the Precinct 2 area in an around Trinity will be asked to select nominees for commissioner and justice of the peace. According to Trinity County Democratic Party Chairman Fredie Chapman, only the two Precinct 2 voting boxes will be open Election Day, both from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. They include Box 11 at the Risin Sun Cowboy Church and Box 17 at the Trinity Com-munity Center. In the Pct. 2 commissioner’s race, former Commissioner Bill Burton and current Commis-sioner Jannette Hortman are on the ballot. During the March 2 primary, Burton narrowly missed winning the party nomination outright, when a vote recount left him with only 49.9 percent of the total. By law, candidates must receive at least one vote more than 50 percent of the total in order to win. The original vote count conducted by the Trinity County Clerk’s Office gave Burton exactly that winning margin with a total of 442 of the 882 votes cast in the race. However, Hortman, who finished in second place with 246 votes (27.9%), asked for a recount. When the votes were counted by hand on March 16, Burton lost two votes from his original total and Hortman picked up two, which forced a runoff in that race. Ed Tindall, the third contender in the race, finished with 194 votes (22%) in both the March 2 and March 16 counts. The winner of the April 13 runoff will face Richard E. “Rich” Chamberlin in the Nov. 2 general election. Chamberlin was unopposed in the March 2 Republican Party primary. The other Democratic Party race on the ballot will be in the Pct. 2 JP race, which will pit incumbent JP Bernie Beard against Trinity City Judge Howard Kinsel. On March 2, Beard finished on top with 336 votes (43.1%) while Kinsel garnered 258 votes (33.1%). The third candidate in the race, Ray Boatman, ended with 186 votes (23.8%). Beard was appointed to the JP post last year following the death of former JP Robert Stubblefield. Because there are no Repub-lican candidates for the post, the winner of the JP runoff is expected to be unopposed in the Nov. 2 general election. The Republican Party runoff will have one statewide race on the ballot – the Place 3 justice on the Texas Supreme Court. On March 2, Rick Green finished in first place among the six contenders with 18.9 percent of the statewide vote. Second place went to Debra Lehrmann with 18.2 percent of the total. The winner of that runoff will face Jim Sharp in the Nov. 2 general election. Sharp was unopposed in the March 2 Democratic Party primary.


Polk County Publishing Company