Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

San Jacinto News-Times - Local News
Stories Added - April 2010
Copyright 2010 - Polk County Publishing Company

Early voting begins
San Jacinto News- Times

COLDSPRING – Early voting begins April 26 and ends May 4 in local city and school board elections. Elections have been cancelled in one school district and one city in San Jacinto County. Shepherd Independent School Board of Trustees cancelled their election because no position was contested, although a new face will fi ll the seat of incumbent John Page. Page did not fi le for re-election. John Few will be sworn in as the new board member following the May 8 election. The City of Point Blank also cancelled their election with no incumbents being contested. Councilmen Clyde Chandler, William “Bill” Metzger and Larry Gumpert will retain their seats on the council. Elections will be held for the cities of Coldspring, Shepherd and the Coldspring-Oakhurst Consolidated Independent School Board of Trustees. In the City of Coldspring, Mayor Pat Eversole is being challenged by Dale Graber for her seat on the council. Council members Dale Smith and Greg Vore will run for re-election unopposed. Early voting times for the City of Coldspring are April 26 and 27 from 7a.m. to 7p.m., April 28, 29 and 30 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. and May 3 and 4 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. All early voting will take place at Coldspring City Hall. Election Day is May 8 and votes must be cast at the San Jacinto County Elections Building located at 51 East Pine Ave. In the City of Shepherd, Glen Dillon and Waid Williams, who currently serves as a city councilman, are running for mayor. Running for at-large positions on the Shepherd City Council are incumbent Kevin Thoms, Bill Rudolph, Sherri Roberts, Bill Hamsey and Michelle Mc- Clusky. Early voting will be held in Shepherd City Hall. In Coldspring CISD board election, incumbent Shannan Calvert did not fi le for re-election. Three candidates have fi led for her position – Troy Cowan, David Reed Jr., and Tony L. Sewell. Incumbent Berlin Bradford will run unopposed for his position. Early voting will be held in the Coldspring- Oakhurst CISD Administration Building.


Polk County Publishing Company