Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357

San Jacinto News-Times - Local News

Copyright 2011 - Polk County Publishing Company

New board members take oath of office
San Jacinto News- Times

COLDSPRING -- Two newly elected trustees took the oath of offi ce and joined Coldspring-Oakhurst Consolidated Independent School District board members at their recent regular meeting. County Judge Fritz Faulkner administered the oath to Barbara Moore and Minnie Walker, chosen by voters to fi ll positions vacated by Pat Johnson and Dr. David Swanson. Fred Taylor was also swornin, having been re-elected in recent voting as well. Superintendent LaTonya Goffney thanked Swanson and Johnson for their service to COCISD, expressing appreciation for the dedication and direction each provided. She further noted Johnson’s specifi c contributions to the District. “The Trojan Community Forums were his vision,” Goffney said. “And there were many times,” she added, “other good things happened and you didn’t want anyone to know it but I knew you were behind it.” Trustees’ next order of business was to elect officers. Board members re-elected Taylor as president. Tony Sewell was elected vice-president and Dale Richards was re-elected secretary. All voting was unanimous. In other business, trustees voted to enter into a shared services arrangement with the Conroe Independent School District Regional Day School Program for the Deaf for 2011- 2012. Goffney told trustees that the District has one student attending the RDSP. Cost of the program is $11,500, which is paid through federal funding. Following an executive session, trustees ratified employment of two Coldspring- Oakhurst High School teachers for 2011-2012. They are Rachael Mikeska, science, and Mike Brown, building trades. The COCISD board of trustees meets at 6:30 p.m. the fourth Tuesday of every month in the Jones Auditorium and Professional Development Center. The public is invited.


Polk County Publishing Company