Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

San Jacinto News-Times - Local News
Stories Added - March 2010
Copyright 2010 - Polk County Publishing Company

Marrs wins Pct. 2 commissioner’s race
San Jacinto News- Times

COLDSPRING – A total of 4,027 ballots were cast in the March 2 primary election last week in San Jacinto County with 2,045 (50.78 percent) being with the Republican Party and 1,982 (49.22 percent) being with the Democratic Party, giving many to attribute the large number of democratic votes to the Pct. 2 commissioner’s race in Shepherd. Pct. 2 Commissioner Royce Wells lost his bid for another four-year term, garnering only 385 votes (38.16 percent), to Shepherd businessman Donny Marrs who took 624 votes (61.84 percent) on the democratic ballot. The only other locally contested race on either party ballot was also in Shepherd where Pct. 2 Justice of the Peace Harris “Red” Blanchette won the Democratic Party nomination with 699 votes (71.91 percent) to challenger Charlotte Roberts- See’s 273 votes (28.09 percent), guaranteeing him another four years in offi ce. Marrs and Blanchette will not face an opponent in the November General Election. Results for other local candidates who ran unopposed include: Criminal District Attorney Bill Burnett with 1,278 votes. Burnett will not have a republican opponent in the November election. San Jacinto County Judge Fritz Faulkner received 1,553 votes on the democratic ballot. He will face Republican Fred Taylor in the November General Election. Taylor received 1,350 votes. District Clerk Rebecca Capers got 1,297 votes on the democratic ballot. She will not have a republican challenger in November. Others with no republican challengers in November include County Clerk Angelia Steele who received 1,366 votes on the democratic ballot; County Treasurer Angie Beard with 1,276 votes and Pct. 1 Justice of the Peace Beth Sewell with 210 votes. Pct. 4 Commissioner Mark Nettuno received 363 votes on the democratic ballot while his opponent in the November election Joe Johnson received 530 votes on the republican ballot. Pct. 4 Justice of the Peace Greg Magee received 381 votes on the democratic ballot. He will face opponent Lou Rogers in November who received 445 votes on the republican ballot. Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace Randy Ellisor received 254 votes on the democratic ballot. He will face James “Jim” Lutton in November. Lutton received 372 votes on the republican ballot.


Polk County Publishing Company