Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357











San Jacinto News Times - Local News

Copyright 2013 - Polk County Publishing Company

 

Deadline to file property rendition is April 15

 

COLDSPRING -- Chief Appraiser Kelly Foxworth reminds business owners to render their property with the San Jacinto County Appraisal District by April 15. To render, is to list the taxable inventory, furniture and fixtures, machinery and equipment and other property a business owned or managed as of Jan. 1. The appraisal district may use the information to set property values. "Rendition helps the appraisal district appraise property fairly and accurately," Ms. Foxworth said. "If some businesses are not paying their fair share of property tax, it places a greater tax burden on other business owners and homeowners." Rendering allows property owners to record their opinion of their property's value and ensures that the appraisal district sends them a notice before changing a value on their property. Owners do not have to render exempt property, such as church property or a farmer's equipment used for farming. The chief appraiser, according to Section 22.28 of the Property Tax Code, shall impose a penalty of 10 percent of the total amount of the taxes on a person who fails to timely file a rendition statement. If more than one appraisal district appraises a property, the property owner should render in each appraisal district office. Property owners who need more time to file their renditions may file a written request with the chief appraiser on or before April 15 to receive an automatic extension to May 15 or the next business day if a weekend. The chief appraiser may also grant an additional 15 days after the postponed deadline if necessary. Rendition forms and decreased value report forms are available from San Jacinto County Appraisal District or the Texas Comptroller's office. The rendition forms ask for the property owner's name and address, general description of property by type or category and the property's location. For property with an aggregate total of more than $20,000, the property owner also must provide a general estimate of the quantity of inventory and the owner's good faith estimate of the property's market value. The owner may provide the historical cost when new and the year the property was acquired rather than the good faith estimate. For more information about rendering property, deadline extensions, penalties and rendition forms, taxpayers may contact the San Jacinto County Appraisal District at 99 Slade Street, Coldspring, Texas 77331 (936) 653-1450. More information is also available from the Comptroller's Property Tax Assistance Division at (800) 252-9121, ext. 2, or by visiting the Comptroller's website at www.window.state. tx.us/taxinfo/proptax/.

 

Polk County Publishing Company