Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

Trinity Standard - Local News
Stories Added - April 2010
Copyright 2010 - Polk County Publishing Company

Early voting begins in local elections

Trinity Standard -

TRINITY – Early voting in the city council, school district and hospital district election will get underway Monday and continue through Tuesday, May 4. The early voting polls in the Trinity city election will open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays in the Trinity City Hall’s council room. The city hall is located at the corner of Madison and Jefferson streets. Early voting in both the Trinity Independent School District and Trinity Memorial Hospital District elections also will run from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the board room of TISD’s Administrative Office located at 101 W. Jefferson. Election Day polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, May 8. The city election will be held in the city hall council room and both the TISD and TMHD polls will be in the Trinity Intermediate School’s auditorium at 101 W. Jefferson. This year in the Trinity City Council election, the mayor and three council positions will be on the ballot. Each carries a two-year term. In the mayor’s race, longtime Mayor Lyle Stubbs is being challenged by Lois Saldana. The only contested council race is the one for the Position 2 seat. Incumbent Councilman Wayne Huffman is being challenged by Billy Jack Walker. Two other incumbents, Position 1 Councilman Clegg DeWalt and Position 3 Councilman Chris Dennis are unopposed in their re-election bids. In the Trinity Independent School District’s election, there will be three incumbent board members and one challenger on the ballot seeking the three board seats. Terms on the school board are for three years. Voters will be asked to select three candidates from the list of four, which included incumbents Steven Tyler, Gary Gallant and Maggie Trevino and challenger Jason Bubba Smith. Unlike the city council race, candidates in the school board election run on an at-large basis, meaning they all run against each other. The three who win the most votes win the seats. In the TMHD election, a total of four board positions will be on this year’s ballot and all four will be opposed. Terms on this board are for two years. In the Position 2 race, incumbent Larry King is being challenged by Benajmin F. Prokop; Position 4 incumbent Travis Starr is being opposed by Jim Henderson; Position 6 incumbent Carlyn Bluis is being challenged by Ted Garrison; and Position 8 incumbent Dave Ward is being challenged by Janice Drake Smith.


Polk County Publishing Company