Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

Trinity Standard - Local News

Copyright 2011 - Polk County Publishing Company

Five incumbents enter May elections
Trinity Standard -

TRINITY – While there were no new candidate filings in the city and school races last week, all five of the incumbent members of the Trinity Memorial Hospital District’s board formally began their re-election bids. Candidates seeking a place on the city, school and hospital district ballots began filing applications on Feb. 14 and have until March 14 to submit them. Election day for all three elections will be May 14. TMHD incumbents whose are seek re-election this year include Jim Rippey in Position 1, Marguery Williams in Position 3, Lois Saldana in Position 5, Cheryl Spearman in Position 7 and Jerry Russ in Position 9. Under the law creating the district, all candidates for Position 1 must reside in Trinity County’s Commissioner Precinct 1 and all candidates for Position 3 must reside in Trinity County’s Commissioners Precinct 3. Candidate applications may be picked up and filed with Pat King at East Texas Medical Center-Trinity during business hours on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursday.. They may be obtained or filed with the ETMC front business office on Tuesdays and Fridays. In the Trinity City Council race this year, two positions will be up for grabs. Current council members whose two-year terms are expiring include Position 4 Councilman Neal Smith and Position 5 Councilman Billy Joe Slaughter. As of Tuesday, Slaughter had filed for re-election and Phillip Morrison had filed seeking the Position 4 seat. Candidates wishing to enter the city council race may file at the Trinity City Hall weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. In the Trinity Independent School District’s board of trustee election, two three-year terms are scheduled to be on the ballot. Incumbents Dorothy Franklin and L.C. Courtney were the only candidates to have filed early this week. In the school races, candidates all run at-large, with the two who garner the most votes winning the seats. Those wishing to file in the school race may do so at the TISD Administrative Office at 101 W. Jefferson Street in Trinity during regular business hours.


Polk County Publishing Company