Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Trinity Standard - Local News
Stories Added -  February 2009
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Filing ends for local elections
Trinity Standard - February 2009

TRINITY – Filing ended Monday for the local May 9 city, school and hospital district elections with only a handful of candidates adding their names to the ballots.
In the Trinity Independent School District’s trustee election this year, a total of three positions will be on the ballot and a total of seven candidates were running.
This year voters will fill two three-year terms currently held by board members Judy Bishop and Joe Farris, as well as a one-year unexpired term formerly held by Debbie Quan.
Quan resigned last year and the board appointed Margarita E. “Maggie” Trevino to fill the vacant seat until the May 9 election.
Candidates seeking the two three-year terms include Bishop, Bill Weaver, Mark Cole and Jason “Bubba” Smith. Farris is not seeking re-election this year.
In the at-large election, the two candidates who receive the most votes will win the two seats.
Trevino, Rick Rankin and John Kevin “John John” Smith also have filed for the one-year unexpired term formerly held by Quan.
In addition, the Trinity Memorial Hospital District is set to select five of its nine board members on May 9.
Board members who terms are set to expire include James Rippey in Position 1; Marguery Williams in Position 3; Lois Saldana in Position 5; Cheryl Spearman in Position 7; and Tommy Turner in Position 9.
All of the incumbents, with the exception of Turner, filed for new terms. Turner said Tuesday morning that he will not be seeking re-election but that Jerry Coma had filed to run for his Position 9 seat.
In addition, Gina Baker will be challenging Williams for the Position 3 seat.
In the Trinity City Council election, voters will decide two positions this year.
Raymond Hamilton is challenging incumbent Position 4 Councilman Neal Smith for a two-year term.
Billy Joe Slaughter will run unopposed for the Position 5 seat, which was held by the late Charles Van Dyke for 23 years.
Early voting in the elections will run from April 27 to May 5.






Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2009
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith