Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Trinity Standard - Local News
Stories Added -  March 2009
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Candidate list changes for hospital ballot
Trinity Standard - March 2009

TRINITY – The list of candidates seeking seats on the Trinity Memorial Hospital District’s board of directors changed last week following the filing deadline.
Former board member Jerry Russ added his name as a write-in candidate to challenge Jerry Coma for the Position 9 seat on the board.
In addition, Regina Baker, who filed to run for the Position 3 seat on March 9, was ruled ineligible and her application was rejected.
Hospital District Secretary Pat King said under the law that created the hospital district, the Position 1 and Position 3 seats have special eligibility requirements.
Only residents of Trinity County’s Precinct 1 may hold the Position 1 seat and only residents of Precinct 3 may be elected to the Position 3 board seat.
“Mrs. Baker is not a resident of Precinct 3 so she was not eligible to run for Position 3,” King said.
With Baker ruled ineligible, the only seat being challenged in the May 9 election will be Position 9, but only Coma will be listed on the ballot. Voters will, however, be given an opportunity to write in Russ’ name for the position.
According to a report presented Monday night at the hospital board meeting, Russ had initially sought to file for a ballot position in the Position 9 race, but when he submitted his application on March 9, he failed to have his signature notarized as is required by law.
Because he was unable to submit a notarized application before the filing deadline at 5 p.m. on March 9, Russ completed his paperwork to run as a write-in candidate on March 11.
The deadline for filing as a write-in candidate was March 16.
Coma and Russ are seeking the seat now held by Tommy Turner, who is not seeking re-election this year.
Only the incumbents are seeking the other four hospital board seats on this year’s election ballot.
They include James Rippey, Position 1; Marguery Williams, Position 3; Lois Saldana, Position 5; and Cheryl Spearman, Position 7.


Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2009
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith