Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Trinity Standard - Local News
Stories Added -  February 2009
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

All-district selections include six Tigers
Trinity Standard - February 2009

TRINITY – Six members of the Trinity Tiger basketball squad have been named to the all-district lists by the coaches of District 21-2A.
Freshman Jacoby Mitchell along with Buffalo junior Micah Burnside were named as the co-newcomers of the year in the all-district selections.
Trinity sophomore Larry Simmons also was named to all-district first team and senior Chris Ellison was selected for the second team.
Honorable mentions also were to Kevin Cossey, Joseph Burton and Cody Dunaway.
Following are the complete all-district lists:

District 21-AA
All-District Selections

COACH OF THE YEAR: Bill Goffney, New Waverly
MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: senior Joe Karrington, New Waverly.
OFFENSIVE MVP: senior X’Zavious Harrison, New Waverly.
DEFENSIVE MVP: senior Chris Dreighton, Corrigan.
CO-NEWCOMERS OF THE YEAR: freshman Jacoby Mitchell, Trinity and junior Micah Burnside-Jones,                 Buffalo.

FIRST TEAM: Senior Sir Horace Saulsberry,  New Waverly; junior Kyren Watts, New Waverly; junior Tyren Watts, New Waverly; senior Matt Schryer, Onalaska; senior Chris Hooper, Onalaska; senior Steven Arnet, Onalaska; senior James Pickle, Corrigan, sophomore Larry Simmons, Trinity; junior Jordan Canady, Buffalo; and junior Clay Hardee, Centerville.

SECOND TEAM: junior Kolton Snow, New Waverly; sophomore Tyler Martin, Corrigan; senior Troy Long, Onalaska; senior Kirby McNair, Buffalo; senior Chad Nelson, Buffalo; senior Chris Ellison, Trinity; senior Devin Smith, Centerville; sophomore Johnny Cloud, Centerville; junior Travis Tomkivits, Anderson; and senior Randy Brock, Groveton.

HONORABLE MENTION: Curtis James, New Waverly; Major James, New Waverly; Manny Harrison, New Waverly; Colbie McClendon, Corrigan; Robert Sparks, Corrigan; Greg Nobles, Corrigan; Jakob Miller, Onalaska; Mickey Spies, Onalaska; Saxton Sims, Buffalo, Bobby McEachern, Centerville, Michael Gwosdz, Centerville; Kevin Cossey, Trinity; Joseph Burton, Trinity; Cody Dunaway, Trinity; and Herbert Davis, Groveton.





Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2009
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith