Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357
Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times

Trinity Standard - Local News
Stories Added - March 2010
Copyright 2010 - Polk County Publishing Company
Montemayor, Page win primary races
Trinity Standard -

GROVETON – Trinity County Sheriff Ralph Montemayor won a the post to which he had been appointed while retired Texas Highway Patrol Trooper Doug Page won the county judge’s race during Tuesday’s Democratic Party primary election. The race for a two-year unexpired term, Montemayor defeated Mark Cole by a vote count of 1,799 (57%) to 1,355 during Tuesday’s party primary election. The two were battling for the vacant term created by the 2008 death of former Sheriff Brent Lee. Montemayor, a retired Texas Parks & Wildlife Department game warden, was appointed to the post in December 2008. Because there is no Republican candidate for sheriff, Montemayor will be running unopposed on the Nov. 2 general election ballot. In the three-candidate race to fill the Trinity County Judge’s position, Page managed to win the party’s nomination without a runoff. Page received 1,752 votes (55.8%) while Allen McKinley, the former chief appraiser for the Trinity County Appraisal District, received 845 votes (26.9%). The third candidate in the race, former Trinity City Judge Mary Lynn Winnett, received 545 votes (17.3%). Page will face Frank Cowan, a retired airline pilot, in the November general election. Cowan, who was running unopposed in Tuesday’s Republican Party Primary. During Tuesday’s party primary, a total of 3,899 Trinity County voters turned out to cast ballots early, by mail or on election day. This represented 34.5% of the county’s 11,290 registered voters. Of that total, 3152 voted in the Democratic Primary and 747 voted in the Republican Primary. While the turnout was substantial, it fell well short of the record set during 2008’s primaries. Spurred by hotly contested presidential races that year, a total of 5,254 Trinity County voters (47.6 of the total registered) went to the polls – including 4,963 in the Democratic Party election and 291 in the Republican primary. While Tuesday’s totals did not set an overall voter turnout record for the county, it did mark the largest number of Republican Party votes cast locally in recent history. In the final breakdown for the 2010 early voting period, a total of 2,042 county voters – almost 18.1 percent of the total registered – cast ballots. That includes 1,661 in the Democratic Primary and 381 in the Republican election. The early voting tally included 161 mail ballots. Voting by personal appearance at the three early polling stations including 1,386 in Trinity, 273 in Groveton and 222 in Apple Springs. In other contested local races on Tuesday’s Democratic Primary ballot, a possible runoff developed between former Pct. 2 Commissioner Bill Burton and current Pct. 2 Commissioner Jannette Hortman. While Burton appeared to have won the nomination without a runoff, County Clerk Diane McCrory said there were 10 ballots that had not been counted late Tuesday. These “provisional” ballots were to be closely examined Wednesday to determine if the voter’s intent can be determined. McCrory said the outcome of that 10-vote examination could be enough to create a runoff between Burton and Hortman. To win a party nomination outright, candidates must receive more than 50 percent of the total vote. If the race does move to a runoff, it will be held on Tuesday, April 13, with early voting at the Trinity City Hall, Groveton Fire Station and Apple Springs Fire Station set to run from April 5-9. Results posted Tuesday night showed that Burton lead with 442 votes (50.17%) while Hortman was second with 245 votes (27.81%). The third candidate in the race, Trinity dirt contractor Ed Tindall, finished with 194 votes (22.02%). The winner of the race will face Richard E. “Rich” Chamberlin in the November general election. Chamberlin ran unopposed in the Republican Primary for the post. One race that definitely is headed for a runoff in the Precinct 2 justice of the peace race with incumbent Bernie Beard facing challenger Howard Kinsel, both of Trinity. Beard was appointed to the post last year following the death of former JP Robert Stubblefield. In the Democratic Primary, Beard lead the field with 336 votes (43.3%) while Kinsel, the current Trinity City Judge, ended with 258 votes (33.1%). The third candidate in the race, Ray Boatman, finished with 186 votes (23.8%). The Precinct 4 JP race in northern Trinity County, incumbent Samuel Ollie Blair held off a challenge from three opponents to win the Democratic Party nomination without a runoff. In Tuesday’s election, Blair finished with 525 votes (53.7x%) while Teresa Pruitt finished second with 221 votes (22.6%) The other two candidates in the race included J. Frank Lamb, who received 181 votes and D.L. “Bubba” Brown who received 51 votes. Blair will face Kenneth N. Holland on November ballot. Holland ran unopposed in the Republican Primary. A number of other local races in the Democratic Party Primary were decided Tuesday without a runoff. Because there are no Republicans seeking these offices, the winners will all be unopposed on the November ballot. • Precinct 4 County Commissioner: Incumbent Jimmy Wayne Brown defeated challenger Doug Cavness by a vote margin of 783 (81.6%) to 176. • Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace: Incumbent Randy Barrett defeated challenger Nancy Wann by a vote count of 390 (53.7%) to 336. • Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace: Incumbent Bobby Nicholds defeated challenger Marvin Cannon by a vote margin of 501 (72.3%) to 192. In addition, three countywide offices also were on Tuesday’s ballot with only the incumbent office holders on the ballot. Running unopposed were District Clerk Cheryl Lynn Cartwright, who received 2,242 votes; County Clerk Diane McCrory, who received 2,206 votes; and County Treasurer Jo Bitner-Bartee, who received 2,032 votes. All three also will be unopposed on the November general election ballot. In addition to the county officials, voters in the Democratic Party primary also were asked to vote on their county chairman. Fredie L. Chapman was unopposed for the post and received 1,984 votes.


Polk County Publishing Company