Main Sections

Polk County Enterprise

Houston County Courier

Houston County Courier

Groveton News

Big Thicket Messenger

San Jacinto Newstimes

Trinity Standard

Tyler County Booster

Corrigan Times





Trinity Standard - Local News
Stories Added - October 2008
Copyright 2008 - Polk County Publishing Company

Near record turnout seen as voting starts
Trinity Standard - October 2008

GROVETON – While turnout Monday was about 50 shy of some recent elections, the November general election attracted a near record 520 county ballots on the first day of early voting.
“It’s not a record, but its close,” said Trinity County Clerk Diane McCrory on Tuesday.
Early voting got underway Monday in Trinity, Groveton and Apple Springs and McCrory blamed a change in the Groveton voting site for not setting a new first day record.
“We moved from the courthouse to the Groveton fire station and I think that hurt us on the first day. People aren’t used to the new location plus, if we were still in the courthouse, we would have had about 10 more courthouse employees vote Monday,” she said.
In addition, McCrory said many people who had business in the courthouse on Monday also probably would have taken time to vote.
Because of the planned extensive remodeling work on the courthouse, earlier this year the county commissioners moved the early voting location to the Groveton Volunteer Fire Department’s station located at 259 W. Front Street.
At the time they voted to move the location, they expected construction work to be now underway. While that work has been delayed, the early voting location will remain at the fire station for future elections until the renovation is completed sometime in 2010.
“The fire station is a pretty good location. It is totally handicapped accessible with no stairs to worry about,” McCrory added.
Through 5 p.m. on Monday, a total of 234 voters had cast ballots by personal appearance at the Trinity City Hall at 101 W. Madison in Trinity.
Early voting at the Apple Springs Fire Station had reached 46 while a total of 36 had case early ballots at the Groveton Fire Station.
In addition, McCrory said that a total of 204 mail ballots had been sent out. Applications for mail ballots will be accepted at the county clerk’s office through Tuesday, Oct. 28.
Early voting by personal appearance at all three locations will run from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Saturday of this week.
It will continue at the Trinity and Groveton locations from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 27 through Friday, Oct. 31.
Election day will be Tuesday, Nov. 4, with polls located throughout the county open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
In the election, voters will be casting ballots in the presidential election as well as on a number of state and district offices.
The only local race on this year’s ballot is in northern Trinity County’s Precinct 4 for an unexpired term as county commissioner.
Former Pct. 4 Commission Travis Forrest resigned earlier this year and current Commissioner James Alford was appointed to the post until the November election.
Because Forrest’s resignation came after the March primary elections, the Democratic Party’s Precinct 4 voting box chairmen selected Jimmy Wayne Brown as their nominee for the two-year unexpired term.
Also on the ballot as an independent is James B. “Britt” Gibson and Ralph Jester has filed to run for the post as a write-in candidate.
The county’s Republican Party did not select a nominee for the office.
Other county offices on this year’s ballot are all unopposed, with only the Democratic Party nominee listed. Incumbents on the ballot include County Attorney Joe Bell, Sheriff Brent Lee, Pct. 1 Commissioner Grover “Tiger” Worsham and Pct. 3 Commissioner Cecil Webb.
In addition, Lindsey Madden Warren is unopposed for her first term as the county tax assessor-collection. She is seeking to replace Kathy McCarty, who did not seek re-election this year.
Also unopposed on the ballot will be all four constables, including Pct. 1 Constable Woody Wallace, Pct. 2 Constable James O. Reynolds and Pct. 4 Constable Donald Kent Blanchard.
In addition, Robert Sterling Johnson will be unopposed for the Precinct 3 constable’s post now held by Ricky Hortman. Hortman did not seek re-election and instead made an unsuccessful bid for the sheriff’s nomination in the March Democratic Party primary election.
Among the district offices on the ballot will be for state representative. Republican Van Brookshire is challenging incumbent Jim McReynolds, the Democratic Party nominee.







Polk County Publishing Company
Copyright 2008
Contact Us: polknews@livingston.net
Call us at - (936) 327-4357

Webmaster: Gregg Faith