Polk County Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1267, Livingston, TX. 77351 - (936) 327-4357

Trinity Standard - Local News

Copyright 2013 - Polk County Publishing Company


Filing underway for local position
Trinity Standard -

s TRINITY – With a March 1 deadline looming on the horizon, candidate filing for city, school and hospital board position has been fairly slow. All three local governmental entities will hold their annual elections on May 11. As of Tuesday morning, only one race has developed and that is for the Position 4 Trinity City Council seat vacated on Dec. 31 by former councilman and current Pct. 3 Commissioner Neal Smith. Smith resigned for his city post prior to being sworn into his county office on Jan. 1. Currently seeking to replace Smith are Billy Goodin and Phillip Morrision. In the only other potential city race on this year's ballot, incumbent Position 5 Councilman Billy Joe Slaughter was the only candidate to have filed. Candidates seeking a place on the city ballot may pick up applications at the Trinity City Hall during regular business hours. In the Trinity Independent School District races, only two candidates had filed applications as of Tuesday. Monty Huffman and Jason "Bubba" Smith had filed for the seats now held by TISD Trustees Steve Tyler and Maggie Trevino. Neither of the incumbents had submitted applications at press time. Unlike the city council and the hospital board races, candidates for the school board run "at large." Because there are two open seats, the two candidates who receive the most votes win the seats. Those interested in filing for a place on the school board ballot may obtain applications from the TISD Administration Office at 101 W. Jefferson. The third election slated on May 11 will be to fill five seats on the Trinity Memorial Hospital District's board of directors. As of Tuesday, only four of the five incumbents had filed for ballot positions, including Position 3 Board Member Marguery Williams, Position 5 Board Member Lois Saldana, Position 7 Board Member Cheryl Spearman and Position 9 Board Member Jerry Russ. Position 1 Board Member Jim Rippey has announced he will not seek re-election. Under the law establishing the hospital district, only residents of Trinity County Precinct 1 may file for the Position 1 board seat and only residents of Trinity County Precinct 3 may run for the Position 3 post. All qualified residents of the hospital district may run for any of the other board positions. Candidate applications may be obtained from the business office of East Texas Medical Center (ETMC)-Trinity during business hours.


Polk County Publishing Company